Are you the person that gets excited to go home or are you the one that dreads it?

Moving away from home and going to college is a big change for some people. Some people don’t know how to cope without their family with them everyday. It can be hard leaving the people you love and moving away and starting a whole different experience of life. I have two of the best parents I can ever ask for and have two brothers and two sisters. So for me leaving home was a big step for me in my life. My family is my rock, they keep me whole. It was the most difficult decision to leave my home town back in Illinois and come to Colorado. I remember the first few months of being away in college was so hard for me and I didn’t know if I can make it the full year. Throughout the semester i met quite a few amazing people that made me feel as if I were home so it made it easier knowing I was across the country from my family. It came to the point where my friends and I were all so reliant on each other, whether it was to go out, go get food, just having someone next to me or walking to class. THOSE WERE MY PEOPLE. It came to the point where we couldn’t leave each other’s side. Knowing winter break was coming up and not having the people with me for over a whole month was pretty scary and sad to say the least. My dynamic at home and my dynamic back at school is not even comparable. The week of finals is the week I know I’m going to leave my school family and go back to my OGs but it is a bitter sweet feeling. I have to go back home and live under my parents roof and have to follow rules. I would have to say that is the hardest part for me. Getting older and the longer I am away from its gets harder living on my own and then having all these rules. I know though, I have to respect my parents and respect their rules… but i think we can all say that is the most ANNOYING part. I have to go back and act as if I’m a high schooler and now have curfews and have to ask my parents to have sleepovers. I mean who wants that? But staying home longer it brings me back to reality with knowing I have to appreciate their rules because they are they ones that let me go to Colorado and go to school and support me. Going home is great but I have to say I miss my dynamic back at school but then I also think about its because I make my own rules. So for me going back home is fun and I LOVE it but going back home and knowing I am teaching myself to mature is pretty cool as well. In that case, to answer my own question.. am I the one that gets excited to go home or am I the one that dreads it? I would have to say both to be honest. I get excited for the first few weeks but start dreading knowing that I have all these rules again. To my college students, what are your thoughts about school breaks? 

Published by New Mav Media

The sandbox blog space for Colorado Mesa University MASS 441 students.

Leave a comment